Driving Under Suspension Lawyer in Batavia, Ohio
Driving Under Suspension Is a Serious Offense
If your driver's license has been suspended and the police catch you behind the wheel, you may face significant penalties, including up to six months in jail and a large fine. However, these penalties are often just the beginning of your problems as a conviction for driving on a suspended license may make it difficult to obtain insurance and/or keep your employment, especially if your job requires you to have a license. If you fail to provide proof of insurance when requested, even if you have moved and didn't get the mailed request from the BMV or have drug-related convictions, it can result in a suspension.
Fortunately, Douglas A. Ball, Attorney at Law, and his team of legal professionals are here to help when you find yourself charged with driving under suspension (DUS). With over two and a half decades of legal experience, Douglas A. Ball has a unique understanding of Ohio criminal law, and he knows how to get things done.
For an up to 30-minute FREE telephone or in-person consultation with an experienced lawyer, contact Douglas A. Ball, Attorney at Law, today. From our office in Batavia, we serve clients throughout Clermont County and the surrounding areas, including those in Hamilton County, Warren County, and Brown County. You can email us online or call us today.
Understanding the Complexities of DUS Charges
Alleged DUS offenses in Ohio can be broken down into two parts: the basis of your original suspension and the penalties for driving while the suspension is in effect. There are actually several reasons under Ohio law in which your license may be suspended, including when:
You accrue 12 points on your driving record through various traffic convictions
You are convicted of operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs (OVI/DUI)
You fail to pay court-ordered child support
Depending on the original reason for your suspension, you may face varying penalties if police arrest you on DUS charges. In many cases, a conviction will result in a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. Also, your license may be suspended for an additional period of time, your vehicle may be immobilized and, in certain situations, your car may be subject to forfeiture.
It's Important to Call an Attorney Now
Given the severity of these penalties, it is always best to seek legal counsel as soon as possible. Call us today, or simply contact us online to set up your FREE initial consultation of up to 30 minutes, in person or by telephone.